Six African countries granted duty-free access to the EU

Six African countries in the South African Development Community (SADC) have been granted duty-free access to the European Union on Wednesday after EU Parliament’s approval of their Economic Partnership Agreement (EPA).

Namibia, Mozambique, Botswana, Swaziland and Lesotho can now export their products under this agreement while South Africa gets improved market access, the European Parliament said in a statement.

The deal was approved by 417 votes to 216, with 66 abstentions, the statement added.

The agreement will enter into force after the Council of the European Union and the parliaments of the six countries ratify the text.

The EPA will ensure immediate duty- and quota-free access for exports to the EU market and also to create new and flexible opportunities for the region.

The six countries will also liberalise 86% of their trade with the EU over ten years with the exception of agricultural and fishery products.

Mozambique will liberalise 74% of its trade under the agreement which is in compliance with World Trade Organisation (WTO) rules.

This article was first published by Ismail Akwei on

Published by Ismail Akwei

Ismail Akwei is an international journalist, digital media and communications professional, editor, writer, arts, culture and tourism advocate, human rights activist, pan-Africanist, tech enthusiast and history buff. He has worked with multinational media companies across Africa and has over a decade’s experience in journalism.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: